Chefs for Christmas, part two

23 Dec

A handful of Omaha chefs were kind enough to answer a question or two about their holiday traditions for the paper earlier this week. I asked them all one more question to feature on the blog: “What is your favorite holiday dish?” See the first two here. Enjoy!

Chef Clayton Chapman, The Grey Plume: Cheesy potatoes!  The traditional casserole with loads of cheese and sour cream.

Chef Jessica Joyce, New York Chicken and Gyros: Although I am honestly crazy about pasta and always ate more than my fair share I can’t help but mention turkey skin with mashed potatoes and gravy.  I loved peeling the crisp, golden brown, greasy skin from the turkey and making little skin cups that I would then fill with mashed potatoes and gravy.  As an adult I now gravitate towards more sophisticated things, especially tourtieres, except when nobody’s looking!

Chef Jesus Rivera, Rivera’s Mexican restaurant: Pecan Pie, and my wife’s pasta salad is to die for.

Chef Jon Seymour, V. Mertz: My family always had a bowl of mashed potatoes topped by the homemade chicken and noodles.  It’s reminiscent of high school cafeteria turkey gravy over mashed potatoes, but exceedingly better.

Chef Gina Sterns, Dolce Cafe: Paraguayan corn bread, called Chipa Guazu. This is from a period of my life I spent in Paraguay South America.

Some of the chefs also shared recipes; find them here.

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

