Introducing Food Prowl

30 Jan

Last Friday marked the beginning of my new Omaha World-Herald food series, called Food Prowl.

I decided to start the series with one of the most iconic — and turns out, one of the most debatable — foods in the city: the Reuben.

The story was a lot of fun to write, and I had a great time eating with Mary Bernstein, J.J. Harder and Jason Bejot.

I’m already working hard on the second installment of the series.

Here’s a link to the full first story, and to a special version we created just for Omaha.com. I’ve created a list of the series at the right, and you can follow along with me each month as I eat my way through Omaha.

Have any recommendations or suggestions? Send them my way.

4 Responses to “Introducing Food Prowl”

  1. Cindy January 30, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    just bought all the ingredients to make reubens after craving them all weekend. you have a whole host of Lincoln youth volunteer helpers if you take your reviews on the road, especially for fried chicken – the 11 year old, cupcakes – the 14 year old and cheeseburgers from the 7 year old. : )

    what a great project

  2. Erica January 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    oh man, for february’s pho you should definitely go to Kimson Seafood Grill on 78th and Dodge. The owner will give you a speech about how pho broth made with bone marrow and simmered for days will stick to your lips – and that’s how you know it’s good.

  3. brentkoster January 30, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    This was actually the source of great agony for me. After I came home and saw the Reuben story in the paper, I decided to make a Reuben at my house. I made what I considered to be a very tasty version and commenced eating.

    It was so good that I began eating a little too agressively, and I somehow caught my bottom lip in the process. It really hurt. I decided that instead of investigating the damage (I already knew it was bleeding), I would be better off finishing my last two bites, fearing that the thousand island dressing would irritate my massive lip wound. Which it did.

    Comeplete disaster. And I keep biting my lip again because it’s so swollen.

    I don’t care for Pho, but I’m thinking maybe that’s a good thing, for the sake of my bottom lip/self respect.

  4. Colin January 31, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    I’m going to predict right now that you’re July prowl on the cheeseburger is also going to be quite the debate. GET READY!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

