Small town Sunday

5 Mar

Yesterday I went to my good friend Cara’s hometown, Brainard, Neb., for the town’s annual Community Fund Drive. Basically, it’s a giant sale in the town’s firehall that includes boxes of random items for $1, $2 and $3, a bake sale, a silent auction, lunch and then a live auction. I think the most expensive item that sold at the live auction was around $30.

Brainard is about an hour outside of Omaha, and it was fun to get on the road early and head out of town. Once I arrived, the first order of business was the bake sale. Cara loves rosettes, which are fried cookies covered with rainbow sugar, and I never turn down the chance for a kolache. The baked goods sell out within minutes, but we got what we were after. The rosettes are the brightly colored cookies in the photo below. They’re really good. Cara’s mom is responsible for making that beautiful pie right in the center.

After breakfast, it was time to start digging for stuff in the auction.

I scored, among other things, a box of vintage holiday signs, two vintage Nebraska coffee mugs and a pretty cool measuring spoon all in the same box for a buck. This bentwood side table, also only a dollar, is now living in my house.

This cookbook was part of a silent auction and ended up being pretty expensive — by expensive, I mean $10 or something — but I enjoyed looking at it. I love old church cookbooks.

We decided to pass on Tang and instead got two polish dogs with sauerkraut and two iced teas.

Many hours later, after all the bidding was done, we headed across the street to the town bar. I left the live auction with two giant stock pots and a box of vintage mason jars, many of which are green glass, that I plan to use on our deck this summer. Total spent: $10. I can’t even recount all the stuff the group bought, but one highlight was a vintage cabbage slicer that Cara took home.

No, we didn’t try the Queso “Tantalizers,” though I tried my best to convince Cara. Instead we consumed a couple of pitchers of red beer, ate some cheese balls and discussed all our awesome finds. Until next year.

6 Responses to “Small town Sunday”

  1. Burwell General Store March 5, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    Love this post! Sounds like a fun day taking in some of the fun particular to small towns… makes me a little bit homesick!

  2. melsidwell March 5, 2012 at 10:45 am #

    ooh ooh can I come next year? you guys are killing me with all your thrifty finds.

  3. Jennipher March 5, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Sounds like a perfect Sunday! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Carla Goodrich March 5, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    to reinterate ‘melsidwell’~can we come next year???!!! Really…I would die for a rosette and even a ‘real’ kolache…sorry, but Hy-Vee just doesn’t do it right! Sarah, could you give us a ‘head’s-up’~w/sugar on it, pretty please…when these ‘events’ are coming up…in the future!! Your readers would lalala love to know about them!!! Thanks for sharing! We obviously love the things you love…and, oooooh, such great finds!! Next time, you gotta have the ‘Lizzards’~trust me! :) LOL

    ~Carla

  5. Appalled March 22, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    “Consumed two pitchers of beer” and then got on the road and drove home? WOW . . .

    • sarahbakerhansen March 22, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      For what it’s worth: I had a glass of beer mixed with tomato juice, ate some food, sat around for at least an hour and then drove home.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

