Pinterest

19 Oct

I wrote a short story in the paper a few weeks ago about the web sensation that is Pinterest. If you haven’t heard of it, click on over to my story and learn what it is. I interviewed a few locals (and one not-so-local) about how they use the site. Lately I haven’t been “pinning” as much as I’d like because the site isn’t that easy to use on my iPad, which is what I use when I’m not at my desk. (Here’s hoping for a Pinterest iPad app soon!)

One of the things I love pinning is recipes, or photos of beautiful food. Most of my pins do have to do with fashion–I love fashion–but I also love eating, and so I figured I’d share a few of my favorite food pins here today.

How gorgeous is that Crispy potato roast? Seriously, I want to eat that right. now. Pinned via the Fish Food Blog, who posted the original, by Martha Stewart, of course.

Then there’s the photos of vintage Pyrex. I don’t have a lot of Pyrex, just a few bowls. But boy are those the workhorses in my kitchen. I love the pour spout. I love the weight. I also love that they’re basically indestructible. And plus, look how pretty they are! I’m not sure where this photo originated, but I pinned it via this Tumblr.

My sister, Lindsey, created a board that the two of us share on Pinterest, and send pins back and forth to each other when we find something the other will like, love, need and/or want. She knows how much I love the tempeh reuben at Mark’s Bistro in Dundee, and so you can imagine how thrilled I was to take in the latest pin she sent my way, one to re-create the sandwich at home. As an added bonus, how pretty is that slaw? Recipe via this blog.

The other cool thing about Pinterest is that it often leads users to find new blogs that they’ll want to follow. I can’t count the new fashion and food blogs I’ve found since I started using the site.

I’m offering Omavore readers the chance to get an invite to the site. I’ll invite the first five readers who leave a comment on this post. Please include your e-mail. If you’re already a member, find and follow my boards here. Happy pinning!

2 Responses to “Pinterest”

  1. Deborah Trivitt October 19, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    Great food photos. I’ll have to check out the crispy potato roast recipe. I love to eat, but don’t like to cook, so am exited to find out where the really tasty food is being prepared for me to buy.

  2. Sarah Wengert October 19, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    Mmmm-mmm, do I love that Marks tempeh reuben! Thanks, SBH. sarahwengert3@gmail.com

Leave a comment