On Green Tomatoes

24 Oct

This weekend, I started to tear out my tomato plants. I know not everyone had great luck with tomatoes this year, but I did — at the height of the season, I brought in a dozen or so a day. I used them to make tomato sauce, ate them drizzled with balsamic and bits of fresh basil and, at the end of the summer, blanched, chopped and froze them for the winter.

On Sunday morning, I took down three of my four plants. They were covered with green tomatoes. At the moment when I started picking them and placing them in a bucket, I had no clue how to use them. I just felt it was wrong to throw so many perfectly unripe tomatoes in the yard waste bag.

I’d say about two dozen came inside with me (many tiny ones did make it into the trash bag.) It turns out there’s a lot (well, a few) things you can do with green tomatoes at the end of the season that don’t include frying. Green tomato relish, green tomato salsa and green tomato soup are the best ideas I came across.

I decided on this recipe for Thai green tomato soup. I wanted something that would add flavor to the tomatoes but not obliterate them; this recipe was great. Left to right below: the soup before simmering for 20 minutes. Soup after simmering. Soup after immersion blend.

It was so good, we ate it for dinner last night and again today for lunch with some hunks of french bread. If you have as many green tomatoes as I do, this is the ticket to using them up instead of tossing them. I still have dozens more green tomatoes, so I’ll be trying some more recipes in the coming weeks. Please send recommendations if you have any!

5 Responses to “On Green Tomatoes”

  1. Gini October 24, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe! We have bag of green tomatoes and I’m feeling meh on the idea of frying them up. It’s just too much effort for something less than great for you.

    • sarahbakerhansen October 24, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Gini, I agree, and I feel the same way about fried okra after I had an abundance of it this summer, too.

  2. Travis Apel October 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    you can throw some chopped green toms in a pumpkin squash soup. i can email you a recipe if you want. great post btw.

    • sarahbakerhansen October 24, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

      Travis, please do send the recipe! sarah.bakerhansen (at) owh.com. Glad you liked the post.

  3. northwestveggies October 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    We here in the Pacific Northwest didn’t have a great year for tomatoes, it was cool into June. So… I have a bunch of green tomatoes I need to use, I will try this recipe! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

