Goodwill Chili Contest

1 Nov

Last Friday, Goodwill Omaha asked me to be a “celebrity” judge at their annual employee chili cookoff. Even though it required me to eat chili at 9:30 a.m., I happily agreed. The event was fun and festive, complete with lots of Halloween costumes, and all the chili was great. I had such a hard time choosing a winner that I ended up picking two winners, one for meat chili and a second for chicken chili. My choice for the meat winner also took home the employee favorite prize. The cook behind that savory pot is Stephanie Wheeler, who manages one of my favorite Goodwill outposts at 180th and Q streets. She graciously shared the recipe for her prize-winning entry below. Enjoy, and thanks again to the great cooks and employees at Goodwill Omaha for asking me to be a part of this fun event. I had a great time!

Stephanie Wheeler’s Prize Winning Chili Recipe

Ingredients:
2lbs of hamburger
2 small onions chopped (I use the yellow ones)
7 celery sticks chopped
1tbs salt
1tsp pepper
2 tbs chilli powder
2 bay leaves
2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tbs sugar
1 tsp oregano
2 tbs all spice
24oz tomato sauce
1 can diced green chiles
1 can kidney beans
1 can diced tomatoes

Brown 2lbs of hamburger with the chopped onions and celery. When meat is completely cooked, drain the grease. Add the rest of the ingredients to the meat mixture and stir, then cover and cook on low heat for about 2 hours.

Leave a Reply

