Happy National Sandwich Day

3 Nov

Because today is National Sandwich Day, and because I’ve been meaning to go to lunch at downtown Omaha’s New York Chicken and Gyros since I started working at the paper, I figured I had best go do it today. And it was awesome. When Gastronomic Fight Club makes a recommendation, it’s usually a solid one, and the blog wholly endorses this restaurant. I can see why.

I tried the restaurant’s Vegan Philly. Matthew had their November special, in celebration of the restaurant’s one year anniversary: a Crispy Veal Sweetbread Po’ Boy. We were clearly on opposite ends of the spectrum with our orders. But both were great: hot, flavorful and a bit decadent. Mine was sweet and savory at once, filled with lots of chopped onion, pepper and rich vegan cheese at the bottom. Matthew’s was just what you imagine: rich, crispy, dense and just enough over the top to become memorable. Hot fries and tasty homemade dipping sauces are delicious. If you haven’t been to NY Chicken and Gyro, I’ll advise you: get there.

One Response to “Happy National Sandwich Day”

  1. vegansmarties November 3, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    haha thanks for spreading the word, happy national sandwhich day to you! (and those sandwhiches look great)

Leave a comment