Chocolatier Blue and my first giveaway!

17 Nov

Update: The contest is now closed. The winner of the “Adventures with Chocolate” cookbook via a random number generator is commenter #11, RachelWarne. Congratulations!

I’ll give you the full scoop in my dining notes column tomorrow in the World-Herald about Chocolatier Blue coming to Omaha. I was lucky enough earlier this week to get a sample box of Chris Blue’s chocolatey goodness. My oh my. Some of these (and yes, I’ve eaten a few) are amazing. Below, I’m sampling my favorite so far, the White Russian (a.k.a “the caucasian.”) I’m saving the cardamom-flavored chocolate for last, because it just sounds so, so good.

To continue on the theme, I’m offering Omavore readers the chance to win a prize in my very first giveaway! The prize is a copy of the brand new just-released book “Adventures with Chocolate” by chocolate expert Paul A. Young. Young is a renowned British chocolatier, and his book recently won the Best Chocolate book in the World award from the Gourmand World Cookbook Awards. Fancy!

The book includes 80 recipes — even savory ones. One that looks amazing to me is chocolate water biscuits that are meant to be served with cheese. This sounds like the best idea ever.

All you have to do to enter the giveaway is leave a comment on this post and tell me what’s your favorite way to eat chocolate? I’ll pick a winner randomly on Monday. Good luck!

14 Responses to “Chocolatier Blue and my first giveaway!”

  1. Sara Wilson November 17, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I enjoy chocolate mixed with something savory, like sea salt, dark beer, or chiles.

  2. Elaine November 18, 2011 at 5:09 am #

    My favorite way to eat chocolate… usually in a warm and fudgy state. Like the inside of a molten chocolate lava cake, or a fresh from the oven flourless chocolate cake with some raspberry sauce over it. yum!

  3. Dennis Hansen November 18, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    I really don’t like chocolate Sarah but Sally likes chocolate popcorn.

  4. Gini November 18, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Around Easter, I love to eat chocolate bunnies, the hollow ones and dark if I can find them, with a glass of icy cold milk. The milk turns the chocolate into little shards in my mouth and crunching on them is fun. I’ve eaten them like this ever since childhood and simply can’t break the once-a-year habit. 🙂

  5. Laurie Brekke November 18, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I’m excited Omaha has a local making fab chocolates again.

  6. Ness November 18, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Chile Fudge Popsicle! It sounds awful but is quite literally the best snack EVER

  7. Sarah November 18, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    Hi from Sheldon and “mmmm chocolate!”

  8. thepricklypinecone November 19, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Is it bad that the best way is straight from the pack? Though of course I wouldn’t say no to having a rich dark chocolate cake made with nice rich chocolate.

  9. Dee November 20, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    My favorite way to eat chocolate is while reading a book and enjoying each piece slowly! 🙂

  10. ikkinlala November 20, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    My favourite way to eat chocolate is plain, with a cup of tea.

  11. RachelWarne November 21, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    My favorite way to eat chocolate is taking it piece by piece from the hidden stash in my office. 😉

  12. Mary November 21, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I like to eat chocolate while hiking–either in trail mix or straight-up. It gives a good energy kick and is easy to carry.

  13. Jackie November 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Molé, hands down. Not to be confused with mole which I imagine does not taste very good at all.

  14. Lori Johnston November 22, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    My favorite way to eat chocolate is with fruit, and a great movie.

Leave a Reply

