Matt Miller’s Chestnut Soup

20 Dec

Last week my friend Matt Miller brought me a bowl of chestnut soup. I’d never had chestnut anything before, but let me tell you, this soup was amazing. I gleefully slurped it down for lunch and asked him if he’d share his recipe with Omavore readers. He agreed.

Here’s his tips: Last year, I found chestnut meat already shelled. That was the way to go. I thought the scoring was worse this year.

Some of the nuts got hard after they were roasted. Not sure if that just happens, or if I did something wrong, so I discarded those. I also didn’t strain the soup but I did purée it well. Oh, and I put in a lot more salt than they said.

The soup was creamy, rich and delicious, and the bits of crisp prosciutto added subtle crunch and a salty bite.

Thanks for sharing, Matt, and bon appetite.

Chestnut Soup with Crisp Prosciutto, via the Bitten Word.

Photo by Matt Miller.

2 Responses to “Matt Miller’s Chestnut Soup”

  1. nickrokicki December 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    Sarah,
    I enjoyed your blog about your soup. I’m not a nut fan per say, but the way your presented it and loved Matt’s photo of the soup (and wine). I’ll be sure and make this recipe soon.
    If you’d like to see my passion, you can check out my site at http://www.PeteThePopcorn.com
    Nick Rokicki

  2. Lainey December 20, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    that looks delicious! i bought some chestnuts last year and they stayed in my fridge for a year. shelling them just seemed to daunting.

Leave a Reply

