Thrift finds: New Year’s Eve

30 Dec

I’ve been sick for the past two days and basically hadn’t given a thought to what I’d wear tomorrow night. After napping for a while today I realized I had one option: shop my own closet. So I started to dig around and came across a find from one of my favorite Omaha spots, Esther’s.

I hadn’t worn this jacket because it had some loose threads in the back. So when I went on my lone outing today to buy Vaseline for my dry nose, I grabbed some needle threaders to fix the threads before I wear it tomorrow night. It’s a trick my mom taught me when I was a kid: grab the loose thread from the back of a garment with the end of a needle threader and pull it from the front through the weave to the inside. (I can post a tutorial of how to do this if anyone wants to know.)

I figure the jacket has just enough sparkle. I’ll probably pair it with a patterned blouse and over-the-knee boots with either a black pencil skirt or my trusty J Brand skinny jeans.

20111230-152725.jpg

20111230-152745.jpg

20111230-152754.jpg

vintage St. John jacket, Esther’s.

Leave a Reply

