Adventures in Home Improvement

10 Jan

I have an album on Facebook that shows all the things my husband and I have done to our house since we moved in just over a year ago. Below is a drawing of our place, by our friend Quentin that my sister gave us for our first Christmas there.

We converted a child’s room into an office. Had wallpaper stripped and repainted another room — now our guest room — and repainted a bathroom. With help from friends, we stained the deck. We removed a playhouse from the back yard and I planted my first garden, then documented the canning I did with the vegetables. We cleaned out beds and laid new mulch. My husband babied our yard to make it look better, and we planted natural grass in a back bed that will flourish this year. We inherited deck furniture and a grill and ate and had parties outside.

I have more plans for my garden this year: I’m going to make it bigger and rethink what and how much I plant. And I’m going to create a special herb garden next to our deck, because fresh herbs are just the best.

But I’ve also been giving some thought to our bedroom. It’s the only room in the house that we haven’t really done a thing to since we moved in. The idea of a redecoration started when we finished the guest room re-do and bought ourselves a new bed, moving our old one to the guest room. The new bed is so nice that it makes the rest of the furniture stand out as being, well, not that nice.

I’ve been looking for bedroom inspiration before we do anything, and I’ve been finding a lot in the Design Sponge at Home book, which I got for Christmas.

There are beautiful homes throughout the first half of the book. Looking at it can be somewhat intimidating, as any redecoration we’d do would be on a tight budget, but I’m going to try. I’ll keep you posted as to my inspirations, and post photos as things come along.

So tell me: what’s your favorite source for design or home inspiration?

One Response to “Adventures in Home Improvement”

  1. Gini January 10, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    I love Pinterest and I really like http://www.centsationalgirl.com for DIY inspiration….but I’ll admit, I haven’t done a single thing yet. I have grand plans for a dresser for our baby’s room, but we’ll see. I need to get some legs under these plans, stat!

Leave a Reply

