Brioche Toad in the Hole

6 Feb

My friend and fellow food blogger Sara of Stalk my Kitchen baked my husband a loaf of brioche this weekend. We brought it home after drinks on Saturday night and literally, my husband could not wait to cut into it Sunday morning. He recently discovered the wonder of brioche when we brought a loaf home from La Buvette a few months ago; now he’s addicted.

Sara’s loaf is beautiful: perfectly formed and golden brown. It’s also buttery and delicious. (Read her blog post about brioche baking here.)

Sara and her fiancée Scott told us they used the bread to make toad in the hole eggs, and that seemed a good enough idea to us.

I am enough of a baking novice that I have a very slim selection of cookie cutters, and none shaped like a circle.  On the first piece, Matthew carved out a hole with the bread knife. On the second one, I used a shot glass to cut the hole and that worked great.

My process photos didn’t turn out so well, and it took some concentration for me to decide just when to flip the bread without breaking the egg, so I didn’t take any photos. Matthew’s piece turned out perfect, and mine broke. But it tasted good anyway.

3 Responses to “Brioche Toad in the Hole”

  1. Lindsey Baker February 6, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    I appreciate that you didn’t waste a bit of that gorge bread.

  2. stalkmykitchen February 6, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Yay! So glad you enjoyed it! Believe me, it won’t be the last brioche I bake for you!

  3. Fash Flood February 6, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    That bread this seriously making my mouth water.

Leave a Reply

